“The Oath”

DonnaDylanJune2013

I’ve been reflecting on my son’s passport renewal process. No longer a minor, he completed his paperwork as an adult. This required an Oath. A raise your right hand kind of pledge to acknowledge and verify you are who you say you are. Before he could repeat the Oath, he was asked to fill out the spaces on his application that were incomplete. These fields were purposely left unfilled because it required his father’s name and address. He looked to me and all I could do was look into the glass window and shake my head – gesturing no – to the passport agent. I was speechless. She returned the paperwork and asked him to write “NONE”. He returned the application – raised his right hand and repeated The Oath.

This morning – as I rise to a new day and awaken to a horizon of brand new mercies, I am reminded of the empty spaces in our lives and how God’s love has completed – exceeded and continues to override every broken and incomplete dwelling space that remains. I see the baby boy who was born to a single mother filled with joy and fear. I see God’s right hand – taking The Oath on behalf of His son (my child). I recall my breast cancer diagnosis at the age of twenty-two. My body shattered – identity scattered and faith tattered. But God – took The Oath – raised his right hand for me. I rise today asking God to continue to show me who I am as I celebrate who I am becoming. Now, I raise my right hand and I repeat after Him…“I – Donna Louise Adkins, will be all that You (God) have called me to be. I surrender all of the incomplete, blank and empty spaces in my life to my Creator and my Savior. Happy 25th Anniversary (post breast cancer) to Us!!!

About DrivingDylan

Life after Birth: My redemption through "Womb of the Heart".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “The Oath”

  1. Kim Tavares says:

    Great job keep writing sistahlove ❤️❤️

  2. Imani says:

    Beautiful post Donna! Love you!

  3. Cookie says:

    Writing is truly a gift from God straight to you. Love “The Oath”!!! Another beautiful, powerful post touching so many. Please keep writing. I wanna see that book, read it and purchase a bunch of them for others. Love you! 😊

    • drivingdylan says:

      Thank you to the sweetest Auntie and mender of broken hearts. Just like the beautiful quilts you create…you have pieced me back together – tenderly and lovingly. Love Love Love You!!!

Leave a Reply

